Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Life Before Damaged volume 2, by H.M. Ward

Life Before Damaged Vol 2. (The Ferro Family)
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Following the traumatic and steamy events of volume 1, volume 2 sees Gina trying in vain to go through the motions of everyday life, questioning herself at every turn. It's a clear case of coming of age, breaking free from the expectations of others and finding who you are, who you want to be and which values you want to abide by. That's what the 20's are all about.

This book lays down the groundwork for the story and you get insight into who Gina is, who are the people surrounding her and what kind of life she's lived up until now. Volume 2 is her backstory. New and interesting characters are introduced. Filled with funny comments and sassy comebacks.

A story is a journey. Sometimes there are steep hills to climb, sometimes there are thrilling hills to go down at breakneck speed, there are also valleys and plains and sometimes there are bumps in the road. This volume is part of that journey.

Psssst! The ending will have you swearing for more and wanting volume 3 right away! :-)



Guilt ravages me, swallowing me whole. It steals my sleep and knots my stomach. I was the princess, the perfect Granz heiress, but no longer. That part of my life went up in flames, taking my future with it.

What remains is a shadow, a girl with no future and a terrible secret. There's only one soul who knows the extent of my sins, and I can't shake his beautiful face from my mind. The memories of being near him that night are charged. They linger, but going after Pete is like trying to catch smoke in my hand.

The pull toward this sexy man is unreal, and that's what I keep telling myself—the Pete Ferro I saw that night doesn't exist. There is no poet, no philosopher, no artist. He's a player and I’m his newest toy.

Genre: New Adult Romance
This story unfolds over multiple volumes
Length: Approx. 130 pgs 

About the Ferro family:
There are multiple series set within the Ferro family world: The Arrangement (Sean Ferro), Damaged and Life Before Damaged (Peter Ferro Granz), Stripped (Jonathan Ferro), The Proposition (Bryan Ferro), The Wedding Contract (Nick Ferro) and Secrets and Lies (mystery Ferro). Each Ferro family story is made to be read on it's own but if you like H.M. Ward's books, you may want to read all of them (see note on suggested reading order below). The Ferro Family books are contemporary "new adult" romance stories involving characters mostly in their 20's.

Suggested reading order:

Each series is stand alone & can be read in any order. However, if you are planning on reading all of the Ferro Family books, I recommend reading them in the order suggested below to avoid any confusion or spoilers from one series to the next. For the ultimate Ferro fan, I have also included stories that are related to the Ferro family saga (Scandalous: the main male character is mentioned in Stripped; The Secret Life of Trystan Scott: Trystan and Mari make appearances in various Ferro books and Trystan becomes an important character in The Arrangement plot at some point, Second Chances: there's a small Ferro cameo in one chapter).

Suggested (Ferro) reading order:

Scandalous 1 & 2 (not Ferro / mentioned in Stripped)
The Secret Life of Trystan Scott 1 - 5 (not Ferro / characters in Ferro books)
The Arrangement 1 - 6 (Sean Ferro)
Damaged 1 & 2 (Peter Ferro Granz)
The Arrangement 7 - 11 (Sean Ferro)
Stripped (Jonathan Ferro)
The Proposition 1 - 4 (Bryan Ferro)
The Arrangement 12 - 14 (Sean Ferro)
The Proposition 5 (Bryan Ferro)
The Arrangement 15 -17 (Sean Ferro)
The Wedding Contract (Nick Ferro)
Secrets and Lies 1 - 2 (mystery Ferro)
Second Chances (not Ferro / Ferro cameo)
Life Before Damaged 1 - 5 (Pete Ferro)

Books in order of publication date:
(This order jumps from one series to the next more often. Could be confusing if you are not familiar with the various characters and storylines)

Scandalous 1 & 2 (not Ferro / mentioned in Stripped)
The Secret Life of Trystan Scott 1 - 5 (not Ferro / characters in Ferro books)
The Arrangement 1-4 (Sean Ferro)
Damaged 1 (Peter Ferro Granz)
The Arrangement 5-7 (Sean Ferro)
Damaged 2 (Peter Ferro Granz)
The Arrangement 8-9 (Sean Ferro)
Stripped (Jonathan Ferro)
The Arrangement 10-11 (Sean Ferro)
The Proposition 1 (Bryan Ferro)
The Arrangement 12 (Sean Ferro)
The Proposition 2 (Bryan Ferro)
The Arrangement 13-14 (Sean Ferro)
The Proposition 3-4 (Bryan Ferro)
The Wedding Contract (Nick Ferro)
The Proposition 5 (Bryan Ferro)
Secrets and Lies 1 (mystery Ferro)
Second Chances (not Ferro / Ferro cameo)
The Arrangement 15 - 16 (Sean Ferro)
Secrets and Lies 2 (mystery Ferro)
The Arrangement 17 (Sean Ferro)
Life Before Damaged 1-5 (Pete Ferro)

About H.M. Ward's serials:
Serials are shorter books (1/4 to 1/3 of a full-length novel). They start off abruptly from where the previous book ended and end with a cliffhanger. Being shorter books, serials don't recap events that occur in previous volumes, so it's best to start off with book 1. I read at an average speed and each volume takes me about 1 to 2 hours to read.

No comments:

Post a Comment